Here in Tooreen N.S. we are fortunate to have a wonderful archive of roll books, registers and attendance records. These records are a wonderful resource and provide a fascinating insight into the history of Tooreen and it’s surrounding area.
The old school in Crossard existed from 1872 and closed in December 1928. The school was then transferred to Tooreen with St. Brigid’s new school opening in 1929. This new school operated as two separate units with two teachers in each. Stannie Flanagan and Lucy Freyne taught in the boys’ school, while Annie Flanagan and Biddy Jordan (nee Curley) taught in the girls’ school. When Annie Flanagan retired in 1949 she was not replaced. Both schools were amalgamated and St. Brigid’s N.S. became a three teacher mixed school for the first time.
In 1972, Falleighter School was amalgamated with St. Brigid’s N.S. and amalgamation took place again in 1975 when Carrownedan school closed and the pupils and their teacher, came to Tooreen.
The old school building was renovated in 1967 but despite these efforts the building continued to become very dilapidated and in 1997 a new school was built. The new school was opened on Friday, November 14th, 1997 by the then Minister for Education Mr. Micheál Martin T.D.
Today St. Brigid’s National School, Tooreen is a modern well-equipped building set in beautiful grounds. We are proud of our rich school history and the heritage of our area. We have had many wonderful achievements, in both educational and sporting settings and strive each day to add many more great accomplishments to the future history of our school.